Tuesday, May 28, 2019

Excerpt for A Time of Turmoil

To celebrate only three more days (almost two!) until release, here's an excerpt from A Time of Turmoil featuring the three characters on the cover!


Noll was fiddling with the sleeves, and Vivian coughed slightly in his direction.

He ignored her.

“Stop,” she whispered out of the corner of her mouth. “We are about to begin.”

“Begin what?” he asked simply.

She sighed. Five times already, she had to explain this to him. He hated to wear his surcoat and continually fussed about wearing it. His memory was terrible. When she had been younger, she thought he repeated questions to annoy her. Oh, no. That was simply Noll. A year older than her at fifteen but he acted like a child yet. She did love him as much as she could, but this was not the time to be anything but proper. A man was about to be killed for crimes against their family and all the land of Tenoch Proper.

If one dared to mention the Li family, they must be killed. It was as simple as that, a crime punishable by death to ensure that peace and harmony lasted throughout the Rivera reign, long let that be.

“Stand still. Pretend you are a sentinel. Can you do that?” Vivian asked Noll.

He clicked the heels of his shiny black boots together and stared straight ahead, arms out.

“Put your arms at your side!”

“What is he doing?” Rosalynne demanded.

“I’ll handle it,” Vivian said. “What are you doing?”

“Being a tree.”

She sighed. “I didn’t say to be a tree. A sentinel. A guard. Pretend you’re a guard at attention. Stand tall, like that, but with your arms—”

“Do I get a sword then?” he asked eagerly.

Vivian blinked a few times in dismay. She hadn’t thought it wise for him to be here, to witness this. Last time, he had nightmares for weeks. Did anyone ask her opinion of the matter? Certainly not but well they should. She would make a fine, grand queen someday.

If only she had been first and not last.


Monday, May 27, 2019

First Review for A Time of Turmoil!

*I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for a free and honest review.*

This was an absolutely phenomenal book. The characters, the world, the plot, the story as a whole, it was all just fantastic! I could scarcely put it down and every moment i had to i found myself constantly thinking about it! I was addicted from the get go! Definitely a 5 out of 5 stars!

The world building was done extremely well throughout this story, and I'm keen to continue learning more about it. The story was interesting and had me drawn in instantly. The characters were well developed throughout the book and I'm excited to see them keep growing. The writing was truly wonderful and easy to fall into. All in all, an excellent book that I highly recommend picking up!

Sunday, May 26, 2019

Meet N. M. Zoltack

Epic fantasy has always been my first love. Almost all of my stories written under my name fall under speculative romance, though. Now that I am writing a series that is purely epic fantasy, I decided to write it under the name N. M. Zoltack.

And the first book is up for preorder right now! If you want a signed copy, they're already available! Just email me at Nicole.Zoltack@gmail.com.

*****

Blurb:
Tenoch knew peace long ago when the dragons three ruled over the evil, susceptible peoples. Now, however, the dragons are long since dead, and humans rule.

For better or worse.

The king is a broken sloth. The crowned princess doesn’t want the throne. The prince is intellectually delayed. The younger princess is vain and spoiled.

The queen committing adultery sets off a chain of reactions that will leave the world in a time of turmoil. ill peace ever return to the land?


*****

Want to read a FREE short story set in the world of Dragoona, where my epic fantasy is set? Just sign up for N. M. Zoltack's newsletter!

Thursday, January 24, 2019

Meet Ryan Ingersoll

Nathan Howe and I wrote the Magical Awakening series together under our pen names Nathan Ryan and Nicole Beyer. Now, we have a new joint pen name, Ryan Ingersoll!

Ryan Ingersoll writes YA gamelit stories. Gamelit stories have game-like aspects to them. In our first series, the superheroes can see stats of other people and gain levels and more powers.

Ryan's first book, Rosethorn, will come out later this month!



Even the greatest heroes start at level one.

Seventeen-year-old Hazel lives on the streets of Philly, a tough city that has never cut her a break. Then, one day, Hazel discovers she can control plants, grow them, or kill them.

But she’s not the only one with new superpowers.

Eighteen-year-old Ace has it all—the love of his life, a baby on the way, money—only his parents don’t approve of the union. When Ace loses everything, he gains his superpowers after a chance encounter with Hazel.

While Hazel rises as Rosethorn, Ace stumbles into the darkness as Mimic. Who will win for the fight for control of the City of Brotherly Love?

Rosethorn contains action, drama, highs and lows, romance, and light gamelit elements. If you love superhero origin stories, this one’s for you.

Wednesday, January 9, 2019

The Queenmaker Series is Finished!

How doesn't love King Arthur? And you know I adore retelling and reimagining and so, The Queenmaker Series was born!

And now, you can get the entire trilogy together!



A maid who will become more than merely legend...

The Queenmaker trilogy is a King Arthur retelling with Arthur as Alena, a maid who can possibly become so much more than she ever dreamed possible. Perfect for fans of The Mists of Avalon, The Selection, and Red Queen.

Prefer to get the books individually?


A maid who will become legend...

Sixteen-year-old Alena longs for a world where peasants, servants, and nobles are all equal. Truly, that will never be possible until the day when she removes a sword from a stone and might have the chance to become queen... if she can rally those same peasants, servants, and nobles behind her.



Alena is already a legend. Now, it is time for her to be luminary.

The people of Britain do not want a maid for a queen, even if she is the only one capable of removing the sword from the stone. Alena will have to prove herself worthy of the crown, and that means saving Britain from not only the Scots but also the Picts.




The time has come for Alena to take her rightful place as queen, but her troubles are far from over.

Having saved Britain from invaders, Alena is now accepted by her people. Her choice for king, however, is met with dismay. Both her advisors and the nobles believe they know better whom she should wed.

In the midst of the turmoil after her coronation, Alena is betrayed by those she holds most dear. Uncertain who to trust, Alena must rise up as the Lionessheart to save the day once more when another threatens to destroy everything she has achieved.

What's next? I'll be relaunching and finishing the Winged Beast Chronicles!